notes of a gardening season…

The old widower who lived there had passed away – they said at the yard sale. Though I had no intention of gardening, I chose to buy a gardening journal – all handwritten. “Notes of a Gardening Season” was printed on the cover. On the first page, June 4th, he began with the words: A night blooming garden and give her the moon. I was struck by these words. On the fifth page, within the paragraphs, he’d written: evening primrose – she loses all inhibition. He continued two days later with: moon flowers – how I have loved!  There are entire pages in which he writes of never having loved anyone, but my wife, Simone. It wasn’t until the end of the journal on September 14th that he wrote: Simone has passed in her sleep. I shall never love again. Take me, Lord. In one season, he gave his wife the moon and the stars. And in the end, his only wish – to follow her there.

