upon the wings of birds…

My husband had been out of town on business, and he didn’t understand my mowing around the dead bird. He had no patience with me when I hadn’t used a shovel to throw it in the garbage. I was too afraid of the void death had left, loving birds as I do. I looked down where it was beside the hedge asking my husband if we could bury what remained. He didn’t speak, but as I watched he buried the bird. That afternoon I was out of the house for an hour. On the kitchen table when I returned was a vase of Stargazer lilies and a card that read, “Forgive me. I love you, Perry”. I called to him, “Perry! It was my fault!” He walked into the room and looking in my eyes, he whispered my favorite quotation: “Though I was thought mad, I made my way upon the wings of birds and there I found a heaven.”

