so it was Christmas…

Driving home from a vacation in the North Country this past June, the old wooden sign out by the road simply said EGGS. I told Barry that I wanted to stop. So there we were on a one-lane dirt road through what could have been a Christmas tree farm. The trees were so neatly planted in rows. We came to a fork in the road with two signs: CHRISTMAS TREES and EGGS. Well, I forgot all about eggs and suddenly in summer, I wanted a Christmas tree. So off we went to the left through what was now a Christmas tree farm. There was a building with a sign: SHOUT FOR OL’ HENRY. We got out of our truck and began shouting. A wizened old man with a twinkle in his eye and a limp came round the corner of the building saying, “You don’t have to shout!” Then he winked. He said, “You folks lookin’ to celebrate Christmas?” We felt foolish, but had to admit that’s just what we were going to do. The tree we purchased was the most perfect tree I’d ever seen. On our way home I realized, “Barry! I have no gifts for you!” He laughed. So we stopped at a $5 Store and promised we wouldn’t look in each other’s cart. Now it would be Christmas! If you’re curious, this Christmas (in June), I received five egg cozies, a beach towel and two pairs of flip flops. I gave Barry a rain gauge, some bird seed and a wallet that he still favors – I must admit. Yes, we wrapped our gifts. Yes, we went all out with lights, ornaments and tinsel. And yes, Ol’ Henry sold us that tree for only $3 because he said, “I like you folks!”

