Sadie of winter…

One winter evening after the first snow, a cat entered my home. I had wanted a cat and named her Sadie – not because I’d been waiting for a Sadie, but because a Sadie had come in from the cold. Her winter days were spent watching the birds eat suet and napping on my bed in the afternoons. Two weeks after the last snow storm in April, she slipped out the door and followed spring down the brick walk toward birdsong and flowers. She paused and looked back at me, perhaps the only one who had shown her love. Each night to my surprise, she would return when I called her name. Again this winter with the first snow, Sadie curled up on the sofa by the old woodburner to stay indoors through winter…just long enough to want to run free in spring…just long enough to want to return home come end of day.

